The Ghana Premier League is the top professional football division of the football League system in Ghana. The League was Officially formed in 1956, after the last Gold Coast Club competition was held in 1953–54. It is organized by the Ghana Football Association and managed by the Premier League Management Committee chaired by former Ghana Football Association Chairman, Lepowura Alhaji M.N.D Jawula. It has been dominated by Asante Kotoko and Accra Hearts of Oak. Currently, eighteen (18) Clubs compete in the League, with the bottom three Clubs relegated at the end of the season while three clubs from the second tier gain automatic promotion to play in the League.